#BookSale “Lost Souls (Detective Gaby Darin, Book 4)” by Jenny O’Brien

~~~

‘Absolutely brilliant. The most twisted story I’ve ever read.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 Stars

A MISSING GIRL. A RACE AGAINST TIME.

Ten-year-old Elodie Fry vanishes overnight, along with a rucksack filled with her meagre belongings. Detective Gaby Darin and her team are fighting the clock to reunite Elodie with her distraught mother – but was Elodie kidnapped or did she run?

Later that day, a local undertaker uncovers a nasty surprise: the remains of an unidentified second adult among a late pensioner’s ashes. Torn between the two investigations, Gaby decides the gruesome discovery at the crematorium must wait – the team are desperate to find Elodie before they lose her trail.

But as she follows the evidence, Gaby realises the two cases have a sinister connection… and there’s a killer on the loose.

Can Gaby find the missing girl alive… or is she already too late?

Full of twists and turns, this gripping thriller will keep you hooked to the end. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, LJ Ross and D.S. Butler.

Readers LOVE Lost Souls!

Absolutely brilliant… A great story line and characters that are easy to relate to. Highly recommended.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 Stars

‘I think this is the best in the series so far. I read it in a couple of hours! Bring on the next one.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 Stars

‘I love reading this series, it gets better with every book. It is a great story which had me gripped from the start.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 Stars

‘Lost Souls has exceeded my expectations. I already want to read a new case of this fascinating series.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 Stars

‘This book had intrigue, suspense, action, drama, heartache and heartbreak. It was a real who done it!’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 Stars

‘This book will keep you on the edge of your seat! Great writing! Great plot!’ NetGalley Reviewer

 

99c for a limited time on all online retailers!

 

Amazon

 

~~~

#BlogTour “The Step-sister” by Jenny O’Brien

tour banner

~~~

When a stranger leaves step-sisters, Victoria and Ness, a half-share in a house in Holland, they think it must be a mistake.

But there’s no mistake when Ness goes missing.

Desperate for the truth, Victoria heads to Holland to find out what happened to her. Has she, as her texts show, embarked on a whirlwind romance? Has someone abducted her or even worse?

But there’s someone watching, and that person wants her dead.

Can Victoria find out the truth before it’s too late?

 

EXCERPT

Something is different, if there haven’t been more than enough changes to contend with already. It’s still dark and warm but now, instead of a woolly blanket, I’m wrapped in duvet and dog, as Nigel shifts to snort in my ear.

Just like before, I examine my surroundings without moving a muscle, just in case. Just in case he’s still in the room, although my ears tell me differently. It’s quiet, too quiet for guests and the only sound is my pulse as it throbs in my ears.

I’m lying stretched out on a bed, a bed topped with the softest mattress and the smoothest of sheets. This is no cheap student flat as I sink my head further into the pillow, aware of a slight pull on my scalp. But there’s no pain, just the awareness that something isn’t quite right. I let my muscles relax, concentrating on easing the sudden tension that threatens to overwhelm everything. I have to think this through, all of it and I have to do it before he comes back into the room.

There’s no sign of the nausea and dizziness of earlier. Nevertheless, I take a few deep breaths before shifting back against the pillows. I don’t know who he is. I suspect that he may be this Manus van der Hooke person. But, in truth, that’s only a guess, a guess based on a couple of unsubstantiated texts from the most unreliable of sources, my stepsister. Who’s to say he isn’t just an innocent bystander who’s stumbled into the middle of the most bizarre of situations? But if that’s the case, what was he doing in my house? And with the staircase all but demolished, how the hell did he manage to get into the basement?

My head’s starting to ache. Now all I can think about is when I last had a drink. There was that coffee, hours ago, which I never got to finish and all that delicious wine, which I never got to start.

Amazon US   |   Amazon UK

Kindle Unlimited!

~~~ 

J O'BrienAuthor Bio

Jenny O’Brien was born in Ireland and, after a brief sojourn in Wales, now resides in Guernsey.
She’s an avid reader and book reviewer for NetGalley in addition to being a RoNA judge.
She writes for both children and adults with a new book coming out every six months or so. She’s also an avid collector of cats, broken laptops, dust and happy endings – two of which you’ll always find in her books.

In her spare time she can be found frowning at her wonky cakes and even wonkier breads. You’ll be pleased to note she won’t be entering Bake-Off.

Blog 

Facebook

Twitter

~~~

G I V E A W A Y

1st Prize Win an e copy of The Stepsister and crystal, tulip slider necklace

Eprize

2 x 2nd Prize – an e-copy of The Stepsister

The Stepsister 3D

(Open Internationally)

 

E N T E R

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days, then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, except for the winners’ information. This will be passed to the giveaway organizer and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for dispatch or delivery of the prize.

~~~

full tour banner

#CoverReveal “The Stepsister: A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Wicked Twist” by Jenny O’Brien

tour banner

~~~

The Stepsister cover

~~~

Book Blurb

When a stranger leaves step-sisters, Victoria and Ness, a half-share in a house in Holland, they think it must be a mistake.

But there’s no mistake when Ness goes missing.

Desperate for the truth, Victoria heads to Holland to find out what happened to her. Has she, as her texts show, embarked on a whirlwind romance? Has someone abducted her or even worse?

But there’s someone watching, and that person wants her dead.

Can Victoria find out the truth before it’s too late?

~~~

Preorder

Amazon UK  

Amazon US

  ~~~

Prologue

 I died yesterday, or so I’ve been told.

Yesterday is the day my life changed but how or why is still a mystery. There are things I know and there are things that they’ve told me but I can’t seem to trust any of it.

I know I’m a woman but I don’t know my age. I know how to hold a cup in the same way I know it’s rude to stick the end of a knife in my mouth. So, somewhere along the way, someone cared enough to drill manners into me. Those are the things I know, the things I can trust but as for the rest…

They tell me I’m in Holland but can I believe them? I don’t remember if I’m Dutch but I also don’t remember if I’m not. I can’t speak Dutch. I’ve been trying all morning but can one lose a language overnight? I seem to have lost everything else. Who knows? Maybe I took the wrong train or something and just rolled up in the wrong city. That would make sense except that it’s not just my sense of place that’s missing. It’s my sense of everything. I have no name, no age and no identity. Yesterday I died and today I’m still here.

They’ve left me alone now while they try to puzzle out what to do and in the meantime I’m going to try to remember stuff. I don’t know how long they’ll leave me alone but I need to take this opportunity to come up with some answers to all the questions they’ve been throwing at me like who the hell I am.

Slipping out of bed I recoil as bare feet meets cold tiles, but that’s not going to stop me. Pulling the back of the hospital gown closed in an effort to retain some degree of dignity, I shuffle over to the bathroom and then the mirror only to stare into the face of a stranger.

It doesn’t matter what I look like or that I’m suffering from the worst case of bed-head known to man. It doesn’t matter that my eyes are green or that my hair is that shade of nondescript mouse that keeps colourists in business. The only thing that matters is my reflection, which holds no clues as to my identity. I’m a stranger to them. I’m a stranger to me.

My body holds a clue though – just one.

I push up my sleeve again to stare at the tattoo on my arm. The tattoo puzzles me. It’s not me, or part of me or who I think I am and yet it’s there, a large indelible letter V.

I have no idea what it stands for. Oh, I’m not stupid or anything or, at least I don’t think I am. I can’t quote which exams I’ve passed or if indeed I’ve ever attended school but I do know V stands for victory. But what does it mean to me? Am I victorious? Am I making a statement about something? It must be important because it’s the only tattoo I have. It’s also the only clue.

I’m tired now. My eyelids collapse over my eyes even as I struggle to shift them upwards as I remember the cocktail the nurse told me to swallow like a good girl. I want everything to go away. I want to hide under the blankets and forget. I’ve already forgotten…

~~~

Author BioJ. O'Brien

Jenny O’Brien was born in Ireland and, after a brief sojourn in Wales, now resides in Guernsey.
She’s an avid reader and book reviewer for NetGalley in addition to being a RoNA judge.
She writes for both children and adults with a new book coming out every six months or so. She’s also an avid collector of cats, broken laptops, dust and happy endings – two of which you’ll always find in her books.

In her spare time she can be found frowning at her wonky cakes and even wonkier breads. You’ll be pleased to note she won’t be entering Bake-Off.

Readers can find out more about Jenny from her blog: https://jennyobrienwriter.wordpress.com

Facebook

Twitter

~~~