#PreOrder “Still Falling: A Troubled Spirits Novel” by J.R. Erickson

book cover


Inspired by a sinister true story….On a desolate peninsula, Skelling Hall has stood for more than a century.

When Iris Walsh flees to the Upper Peninsula in northern Michigan, she’s grappling with some deeply disturbing truths. She seeks solace at her grandmother’s home and, for a time, she finds it.

But on a frigid winter night, Iris glimpses a man fleeing through the forest from a dark entity, and she crashes her car.

Iris is swept into a mystery that began nearly a century ago when two little boys walked into the forest on the Skelling Peninsula and were never seen again.

Don’t miss this chilling paranormal tale…

Each novel in the Troubled Spirits series is a stand-alone, paranormal murder mystery inspired by a true crime.

Special preorder price – 2.99

Releases March 17th!

Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US

Amazon UK


#NewRelease “Ashwood’s Girls: A Troubled Spirits Novel” by J.R. Erickson

book cover


The Troubled Spirits Series are stand-alone paranormal murder mysteries inspired by true crimes.Fifty years ago a diabolical plan was set in motion. It ended in murder.

In present day, Adam Tate is in a rush to build his wife’s dream home. She’s ill, and he lives with the looming fear that her days are numbered in months rather than years. As he digs the foundation for their new home, he makes a chilling discovery-long-buried skeletons. On impulse, he hides the grave and pushes it from his mind.

When Adam and his wife Holly move into their new home six months later, it becomes clear that Adam has awoken something that will not be silenced.

Step into a story of betrayal, murder, and voices from beyond the grave.



#NewRelease “Darkness Stirring: A Troubled Spirits Novel” by J.R. Erickson


Darkness Stirring cover


Inspired by an eerie true story.
Lorraine Hicks is fourteen-years-old when she watches her best friend, Beverly climb into a tree in the forest and never come back down. It’s a mystery that haunts her small town and embeds itself in Lorraine’s life.

Fifteen years later, Lori is a grown woman, doing her best to move on from her troubled childhood. She reluctantly agrees to a night of camping, despite her secret terror of the woods. As she sits by a roaring bonfire, a man stands and tells the story of two fourteen-year-old friends who walked into the Manistee National Forest-only one of them walked back out.

The story is hauntingly similar to Lori’s own, and she embarks on a quest to discover if the two disappearances are linked.

As she unravels the truth behind the vanishings, she unearths a malevolence that forces her to question if evil truly exists.

Don’t miss this chilling paranormal murder mystery.

Kindle Unlimited



#NewRelease “Bitter Ground: A Northern Michigan Asylum Novel” by J.R. Erickson


More than a decade ago, six kids witnessed unspeakable horror. Not all of them lived to tell.

Riza is no longer that kid – troubled, angry, and filled with secrets. She’s grown up, and when she stumbles upon an on-line forum about the shuttered Northern Michigan Asylum, she tries to pretend it never happened – not the years of experimentation, nor the strange midnight writings, and most of all, not the murders.

But someone wants her to remember.

Deaths shockingly similar to those that occurred in 1989 are happening again.

As the killings get closer to home, Riza is forced to face her past one last time.

Get lost in a chilling story of childhood secrets, unsolved murder, and a malevolent asylum for the insane.

Bitter Ground is the eighth and final installment in the Northern Michigan Asylum Series.






“Some Can See: A Northern Michigan Asylum Novel” by J.R. Erickson



The dead have stories to tell. Are you listening?

On a sunny August morning, in 1935, thirteen-year-old Sophia Gray finds her friend, Rosemary wandering in the woods. Rosemary’s yellow dress is tattered and stained, she walks with a strange lurch, and her eyes are vacant and glassy. She beckons to Sophia, desperate to show her something, and Sophia follows.
In an abandoned cabin, beneath a tattered blanket, Sophia discovers Rosemary’s body.
It was not Rosemary who led her there, but Rosemary’s ghost.

Step into the Northern Michigan Asylum for the Insane

Twenty years after Sophia discovers Rosemary’s body, she finds herself trapped in the sprawling, and eerily beautiful, Northern Michigan Asylum for the Insane, in the hands of a malevolent doctor who preys on patients who exhibit paranormal abilities.

Sometimes the dead don’t rest

In present day 1965, Hattie, much like her mother, thirty years before, is led by a ghost. A newspaper hidden in an attic reveals a secret that has shaped the lives of Hattie and her siblings. Hattie with her sister, Jude, embark on a crusade to remedy the wrongs of the past and discover the tale of deception that stole their mother a decade before.

Hattie and Jude are in a race against time to discover a murderer and save their mother from a horrific fate.

Get lost in a uniquely chilling story that spans the life of a family and the ghosts who haunt them.