#BookReview “Emergency Powers” James McCrone

Emergency Powers by James McCrone Banner

on Tour October 1-31, 2020

5/5 Stars!

The first female United States President is dead, supposedly from a heart attack, but even before an autopsy is completed, her vice-president is sworn in as the new president, and covert cells are activated. Before she’s laid to rest, key positions in the administration are replaced. A plan decades in the making for the ultimate power is almost complete.

FBI Agent Imogen Trager is furious at the fast-moving chain of events, and at herself. Had her Faithless Elector investigation had the successful conclusion of rooting out all the conspiracy members, including the leader, President Diane Redmond might still be alive… and Trager not heading some obscure, aimless department in the bureau.

Though she moves with caution, Gen doesn’t let any dust settle. Reaching out to some of her former department contacts, they track recent events leading up to and immediately following the president’s death with a new focus. They realize they were looking—or not looking—at the right people. Their investigation heats up… and the body count continues to rise, but Gen is caught off guard when one of the architects of the conspiracy—and her number one nemesis contacts her. He wants protection for what he knows. While his testimony could change everything, why should she trust the man who tried to kill her?

There’s no time to catch a breath as this read powers forward. Circumstances and allegiances change in the turn of a page, and sometimes I felt as though I needed a scorecard to keep up! Told in multiple points of view, each character is an active part of the whole regardless of which side of the conspiracy they’re on. It was quite telling that those on the dark side of history were more self-serving with personal motivations, while those trying to stop them saw a bigger picture and fought for a cause. Even poor Calder.

Like George Orwell’s 1984 and Octavia Butler’s Parable Series, Emergency Powers is eerily prophetic. In the current political climate, the events of the story don’t seem fantastical or exaggerated. Or fictional. And that’s the part which makes this wild ride a page-turner… and a little scary.

Enjoy!

~~~

Synopsis:

Emergency Powers by James McCrone

The accidental president is no accident. The investigation that was FBI Agent Imogen Trager’s undoing may be the key to stopping a brutal, false flag terrorist attack meant to tighten a puppet president’s grip on power.

Emergency Powers will delight mystery and thriller fans (“Great for fans of Brad Meltzer, David Baldacci.” –Publishers Weekly) And politics junkies will enjoy the ripped-from-the-headlines urgency. But it’s about more than the headlines. And darker. A story of corruption and redemption, achieved at enormous personal cost, featuring FBI Agent Imogen Trager: “a memorable protagonist—as tough as she is smart.” (Kirkus Review)  Indeed, “Three tough female characters steal the show: FBI agents Vega, Sartain, and Trager. Overall, the power dynamics of these women…are something special.” (T. LIEBERMAN, Independent Book Review)

As the story begins, Imogen is haunted—and sidelined—by a case she couldn’t solve. When the president dies in office, she knows that the conspiracy she chased down a blind alley still has life in it—and she needs to get back in the hunt. As bodies pile up and leads go cold, the main target from that old case reaches out to her. He’s still at large, and now he needs protection. Imogen doesn’t trust him, and it’s not only because he’s offering intel that sounds too good to be true. He’s already tried to kill her once.

Set in D.C., Seattle and small town America, Emergency Powers is a story of corruption and redemption, achieved at enormous personal cost.

“A high-stakes political thriller that feels so chillingly true, you pray it’s not”—TOM STRAW, seven-time NYT bestselling author, as Richard Castle

“RECOMMENDED” – Kate Robinson, US Review of Books

“Compelling, heart-pounding and thoroughly intriguing…”— STEPHEN MACK JONES, August Snow, Lives Laid Away

“Keen portraits of true patriotism—and the courage that drives it.” —  ART TAYLOR, The Boy Detective & The Summer of ’74

Book Details:

Genre: Suspense-Thriller

Published by: James McCrone

Publication Date: October 1, 2020

Number of Pages: 300

ISBN: 9780999137727 (9780999137734)

Series: An Imogen Trager Thriller

Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Bookshop.org | Goodreads


Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews, interviews, guest posts, and giveaways!


Giveaway

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for James McCrone. There will be 4 winners. Two winners will each receive one (1) Amazon.com Gift Card and Two winners will each win EMERGENCY POWERS by James McCrone (Print ~ US and Canada addresses only). The giveaway begins on October 1, 2020 and runs through November 2, 2020. Void where prohibited.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

 


4 thoughts on “#BookReview “Emergency Powers” James McCrone

    1. You’re most welcome, James. It was such an intense read and all TOO relatable. Of course, I need to know “everything” so I’ve already downloaded Faithless Elector and Dark Network to my Kindle. Thanks for the intro to Gen and the crew. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to James McCrone Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.