#BookReview “All We Buried” by Elena Taylor

on Tour September 1-30, 2020

cover

~~~

The bound body of a young girl found in an isolated mountain lake brings back clouded memories from childhood for Elizabeth “Bet” Rivers. Despite a lifetime of daydreams and nightmares, Bet doesn’t know if the shadowy figure she saw dumping a body into the lake as a child was real or imagined.

But the former member of LAPD is back in her hometown of Collier, Washington as the town’s interim sheriff with the recent death of the last sheriff… her father. Bet isn’t convinced she wants the job but files to run for the position anyway out of a sense of duty to her father. Her opponent is one of her father’s deputies… a man who is not qualified for the job.

Bet has her hands full identifying the murdered young woman and how she came to be in Collier while dealing with the election, harassing notes and texts telling her to go back to LA, and the reappearance of Collier residents who moved away years ago. Coincidence? She doesn’t think so, but she isn’t ready for the long-held secrets of the past about people she believed she knew well that come to light and prove a connection between her nightmares and her murder victim.

With a twisty plot that kept me guessing right up to the last page, All We Buried is well-written suspense. I liked Bet Rivers because even in all her flaws and indecision, she still has direction. While her father’s words guided her, her character grew enough for her to realize she didn’t need his guidance. Her attention to detail will not only help her solve two cases but also save her life.

My favorite characters were police department secretary, Alma, and Schweitzer, the Anatolian Shepherd Bet inherited from her father. I would have loved more of Sandy, and Rob Collier grew on me from his first appearance… and that ending cinched it! Go, Rob!

This is a book one, so I’m looking forward to seeing Sheriff Bet Rivers and the gang from Collier again!

Enjoy!

~~~

Synopsis:

 

For fans of Julia Keller and Sheena Kamal, All We Buried disturbs the long-sleeping secrets of a small Washington State mountain town.

Interim sheriff Elizabeth “Bet” Rivers has always had one repeat nightmare: a shadowy figure throwing a suspicious object into her hometown lake in Collier, Washington. For the longest time, she chalked it up to an overactive imagination as a kid. Then the report arrives. In the woods of the Cascade mountain range, right in her jurisdiction, a body floats to the surface of Lake Collier. When the body is extricated and revealed, no one can identify Jane Doe. But someone must know the woman, so why aren’t they coming forward?

Bet has been sitting as the interim sheriff of this tiny town in the ill-fitting shoes of her late father and predecessor. With the nightmare on her heels, Bet decided to build a life for herself in Los Angeles, but now it’s time to confront the tragic history of Collier. The more she learns, the more Bet realizes she doesn’t know the townspeople of Collier as well as she thought, and nothing can prepare her for what she is about to discover.

Book Details:

Genre: Mystery

Published by: Crooked Lane

Publication Date: April 7, 2020

Number of Pages: 304

ISBN: 1643852914 (ISBN13: 9781643852911)

Series: Sheriff Bet Rivers #1


Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Goodreads

 

Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews, interviews, guest posts, and giveaways!

 

Enter To Win!!

This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Elena Taylor. There will be 2 winner2 of one (1) Amazon.com Gift Card each. The giveaway begins on September 1, 2020 and runs through October 2, 2020. Void where prohibited.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Get More Great Reads at Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours

 


6 thoughts on “#BookReview “All We Buried” by Elena Taylor

What say you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.