#Excerpt3 “The Sanctity of Sloth (Seven Deadly Sins Book 3)” by Greta Boris

tour banner

~~~

Title: The Sanctity of SlothSloth cover

Author: Greta Boris

Genre: Suspense, Mystery

Series: The Seven Deadly Sins

There’s one thing more dangerous than testifying to a crime—staying silent.
Locked in the ruins of a California Mission, Abby Travers watches helplessly as a girl dies outside her window. As she struggles between her moral obligation to come forward as a witness, and her commitment to a Medieval religious practice that requires her to retreat from the world, the situation spins out of control.

Abby’s hesitation starts a series of catastrophes. She finds herself at the center of a deadly cover up where every minute counts and indecision could be fatal. She questions all her beliefs and everyone she knows becomes suspect. To save herself and those she loves, she must break free from her self-imposed prisons of stone and fear.

The Sanctity of Sloth is a taut, psychological thriller that answers the question: What happens when a good woman does nothing? Fans of Paula Hawkins and A.J. Finn will enjoy this third book in Greta Boris’s Seven Deadly Sins Series.

 

Purchase

Amazon US

Amazon UK

~~~

Excerpts 3 & 4

The irony of her position struck her. She had willingly

shut herself into a room with much the same dimensions

as this one. It had only one small window, like this one. It

had no door, however. But even without a door, sheʹd

had freedom.

The anchorites of old willingly consigned themselves to

a cell which would eventually become their grave. They

had a funeral service before they entered. Yet, they were

freer than Abby was now, because it was their choice.

Would this room become her grave?

Autonomy. Sheʹd never realized before how beautiful

that word was. When one was stripped of the ability to

rule themselves, to determine their own fate, didnʹt they

cease to exist in some way?

Sunlight streaked the gray floor with gold. By its

slant, she guessed it was at least 1:30.

She still had one hour of freedom, one hour to be Abby. She wanted to

experience every moment she had left. When the sun

reached her and warmed her skin, that would signal the

end of her time in this new anchorhold. But she couldnʹt

bear to watch the minutes move across the floor. She

closed her eyes.

Excerpt: 4

Abby shook her head. She no longer believed her

premise—that separating oneself from the world was

what led to true objectivity. It wasnʹt until sheʹd left the

anchorhold and engaged in the battle that sheʹd gained

understanding. Although in some ways she was still

recovering from her ordeal, sheʹd never had more clarity

of mind.

Sheʹd fought for her life, for Carlosʹs life, for her

fatherʹs life, and in the fighting found strength. Sheʹd

looked death in the face and life had fallen into

perspective. She no longer feared becoming like her

mother. She no longer cared what others thought about

her, at least not much. She no longer felt guilt for Scottieʹs

accident. Life and death werenʹt in her hands, and it was

pretty presumptuous for her to have thought they were.

ʺI have a new idea,ʺ she said.

Sylla arched an eyebrow. ʺI hope this one doesnʹt

include lawbreaking.ʺ

Abby laughed. ʺNo, officer. Iʹm reformed. Believe

me.ʺ

 

~~~

Great BorisAuthor Bio

Greta Boris was raised in Greenwich Village, New York by an opera singing, piano playing, voice coach and a magazine publisher. Her original life plan was to be a famous Broadway actor, singer, and dancer, but when she moved to Laguna Beach, California, she changed her plans due to the commute. Today she writes to inspire, entertain, motivate, and so she can afford nice wine.

Links

Facebook

Twitter

Website

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

~~~

Enchanted Book Promo Button

Song Lyric Sunday | “99 Years” – Josh Groban & Jennifer Nettles

SLS banner

Song Lyric Sunday was created by Helen Vahdati from This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time and author Jim Adams from A Unique Title For Me is our current guest host. For complete rules or to join in the fun, click here.

This week’s theme is  “Minutes/Hours/Days/Weeks/Months.

~~~~~~~~~~

Not the song I had in mind for this week’s theme, but it cycled through my Pandora feed earlier this week, reminding me how much I liked it… and searing itself into my brain. 😀

Bridges is the eighth studio album by Josh Groban, released on September 21, 2018. It is Groban’s first album since 2013’s All That Echoes to include original music, and he co-wrote nine of the album’s 12 tracks, including 99 Years.

Josh reflected on his own parents’ 50-year marriage as he thought about the inspiration for the lyrics for 99 Years.

“My parents are celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary. I think many people in my generation and younger wonder, ‘what are they thinking about, the future-future?’”

Josh realized that it worked best as a duet. After wondering who would be perfect to sing alongside him, he decided on Jennifer Nettles because of the song’s ‘accidental’ country sound.

The first video is a 2:31 cut from the story behind the making of 99 Years. A live performance with Josh and Jennifer follows.

Disclaimer: I have no copyrights to the song and/or video and/or hyperlinks to songs and/or videos and/or gifs above. No copyright infringement intended.

Enjoy!

See my Song Lyric Sunday selection for FeliciaDenise.com.

~~~

Disclaimer: I have no copyrights to the song and/or video and/or hyperlinks to songs and/or videos and/or gifs above. No copyright infringement intended.

99 Years

Compiled from Genius Lyrics, Google, Wikipedia, Songfacts.com, and YouTube.
Norns Triad Publications

Weaving Stories Readers Love!

Cátia Isabel Silva

This blog serves the purpose of helping all of those who likes to write to get technical information as well as, having a safe harbor to discuss ideas.

The - So Is Fibromyalgia Real? What I Know Is Real - Blog

What I know IS...it's real...and it's manageable...

5thGenerationgirl

Reaching back to our history in order to move forward with our futures

anonymous gods

Trying to master High-Functioning Autistic Savant syndrome.

Book Review Virginia Lee Blog

Don't forget to like or follow BRVL --http://ow.ly/J17T50xSFZc

Navigating the Change

A Guide for the Menopausal Journey

Suzette B's Blog

Inspiration and Spirituality **Award Free**

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Zombie Salmon (the Horror Continues)

A blog about Horror fiction, Horror writing, and Horror criticism...a continuation of The Horror at Open Salon

Stine Writing

Poetry, Positivity, and Connecting!

Dusty Reviews

Pressured to prove his theories or lose funding, Dusty prematurely stepped into the blogosphere and vanished.

Rain'n'books

Feel the rain☔, take a book 🕮and have a cuppa☕

R&R Book Tours

Author Services, Publicity, Book Tours & Other Promotional Events for Fiction of all Types

The Abject Muse

Kickin' it behind the Eight ball

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Thoughts & Theories

My Personal Rants, Ravings, & Ruminations