#Review “37 Hours (Nadia Laksheva Spy Thriller Series, Book 2)” by J.F. Kirwan

37 Hours banner

~~~~~~~~~~

5/5 Stars!

Wait, what? Vladimir Laksheva? Nadia’s father? Her DEAD father?

With barely time to take a breath, 37 Hours picks up where 66 Metres left off and we’re plunged back into Nadia Laksheva’s world.

Imprisoned in book 1, Nadia gained her freedom with a conditional release—do the bidding of Kadinsky for ten missions/five years. Now, the only way she can leave the secret prison Ml6 has squirreled her away in for the last two years is to take on another mission—recover a nuclear warhead.

Guess Great Britain doesn’t do parole for good behavior.

Nadia had done quite a bit of growing up in a short time. She’s confident and more focused… and she’ll need to be to come out ahead of the numerous forces working against her, not the least of being the faceless Salamander. He’s not just determined to detonate the nuclear warhead, he also wants Nadia and her family dead… because he’s an evil, spiteful bastard who seems to know what Nadia is going to do before she does it. How is that possible?

Trust doesn’t exist and the members of the Laksheva family each find themselves trusting their own judgment as betrayal lurks around every corner.

The author again keeps the suspense high and tight as a parade of memorable characters (some with memorable deaths) make their moves in this high-stakes chess game. Bureaucrats are sketchy with details… and the truth, and those entrusted to do the right thing don’t. (Lorne? Ugh! No sympathy from me. She was doing waaaay too much!)

J.F. Kirwan keeps the reader on the edge of their seat, scratching their head, and swiping pages. The dive scenes are intense, and the writing is superb. In 37 Hours, he delivers a fast-paced, international thriller with plot twists you don’t see coming, but will have you looking forward to the next one.

Nadia Laksheva makes my list of truly strong, female leads, and her journey is far from over, but you don’t want to miss this part… or Nadia, the assassin.

And Vladimir? Didn’t see that coming.

Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~

The only way to hunt down a killer is to become one…

After two long years spent in a secret British prison, Nadia Laksheva is suddenly granted her freedom. Yet there is a dangerous price to pay for her release: she must retrieve the Russian nuclear warhead stolen by her deadliest enemy, a powerful and ruthless terrorist known only as The Client.

But her mysterious nemesis is always one step ahead and the clock is ticking. In 37 hours, the warhead will explode, reducing the city of London to a pile of ash. Only this time, Nadia is prepared to pull the trigger at any cost…

The deadly trail will take her from crowded Moscow to the silent streets of Chernobyl, but will Nadia find what she is looking for before the clock hits zero?

The gripping second novel in J.F. Kirwan’s brilliant spy thriller series. Perfect for fans of Charles Cumming, Mark Dawson and Adam Brookes.

Purchase from

Amazon UK    | Amazon US

 

Author BioJF Kirwan

J.F. Kirwan is the author of the Nadia Laksheva thriller series for HarperCollins. Having worked in accident investigation and prevention in nuclear, offshore oil and gas and aviation sectors, he uses his experience of how accidents initially build slowly, then race towards a climax, to plot his novels. An instructor in both scuba diving and martial arts, he travels extensively all over the world, and loves to set his novels in exotic locations. He is also an insomniac who writes in the dead of night. His favourite authors include Lee Child, David Baldacci and Andy McNab.

Website     |    Blog    |    Facebook    |Twitter

 

4 thoughts on “#Review “37 Hours (Nadia Laksheva Spy Thriller Series, Book 2)” by J.F. Kirwan

  1. Glad you were surprised about Vladimir. Prior to publication I sent it to two of my trusted readers, and before they got to the end of the prologue they independently phoned me and said, just as you did, ‘Wait a minute – he’s alive!?!’ Ta for this fab review!

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.