Start from the Middle: How One Single Idea Just Changed Everything


by Matt Frick

I didn’t write ONE sentence of my current book project this week. Not a single word.

But man did I make some progress!

I told y’all how I like to outline the entire story in multiple levels of detail before I really get to writing a manuscript [Planning: The Importance of Outlining (for me, anyway)], so you probably don’t see anything wrong with that first-line declaration, given the fact that I’m still in the outlining phase. But that line is more attention grabbing than, “I didn’t add a single bullet point to the 30th scene of my outline this week.”

Go back to the second line of this post, though. How can I say that I made progress, on the outline or the manuscript, if I didn’t write a damn thing? Well, folks, that’s what I’m gonna tell you.

via Start from the Middle: How One Single Idea Just Changed Everything

“Bloodlines: Shifters of Alaska Book 1” by Gisele St. Claire


Bloodlines: Shifters of Alaska Book 1

By Gisele St. Claire

Genre: Paranormal Romance/Werewolves & Shifters

99¢ at time of Posting!

A bloodline completely slaughtered by a pack of shifters.

Two sisters that lived to remember part of that tragedy, but can no longer shift. Now living in Anchorage, one continues to have nightmares of that brutal night her family was slaughtered. The nightmares & memories don’t make sense, they don’t fit…She can feel her inner animal locked up but can’t release it.

When Jude Warren shows up in Anchorage and her dreams and visions become more vivid she starts to question everything and everyone around her. After finally mating and still not being able to shift, she knows something is wrong.

Is it just her? Or has everything just been a lie?

Amazon KU

“Dev Haskell Books 11-14” by Mike Faricy


Dev Haskell Books 11-14

by Mike Faricy

Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Private Investigator

FREE at time of posting!

The Dev Haskell Box Set 11-14 featuring four novels in the award winning Dev Haskell series by best selling author Mike Faricy. Four Great Books…One Great Price!

This collection includes four, full length Dev Haskell novels.
Yellow Ribbon: Case 11
Dog Gone: Case 12
Scam Man: Case 13
Foiled: Case 14

Amazon KU

“Ruby Bridges Goes to School: My True Story (Scholastic Reader, Level 2)” by Ruby Bridges


Ruby Bridges Goes to School: My True Story (Scholastic Readers, Level 2)

by Ruby Bridges

Genre: Children’s Books/Nonfiction/Historical/Social Issues

1.99 at time of posting!

The extraordinary true story of Ruby Bridges, the first African-American child to integrate a New Orleans school–now with simple text for young readers!

In 1960, six-year-old Ruby Bridges walked through an angry crowd and into a school where she changed history.

This is the true story of an extraordinary little girl who helped shape our country when she became the first African-American to attend an all-white school in New Orleans. With simple text and historical photographs, this easy reader explores an amazing moment in history and the courage of a young girl who stayed strong in the face of racism.

Amazon Button

“Henry’s Freedom Box” by Ellen Levine



Henry’s Freedom Box (A True Story from the Underground Railroad)

by Ellen Levine, Kadir Nelson (Illustrator)

Genre: Children’s Books/Historical/Difficult Discussions/African-American

A stirring, dramatic story of a slave who mails himself to freedom by a Jane Addams Peace Award-winning author and a Coretta Scott King Award-winning artist.Henry Brown doesn’t know how old he is. Nobody keeps records of slaves’ birthdays. All the time he dreams about freedom, but that dream seems farther away than ever when he is torn from his family and put to work in a warehouse. Henry grows up and marries, but he is again devastated when his family is sold at the slave market. Then one day, as he lifts a crate at the warehouse, he knows exactly what he must do: He will mail himself to the North. After an arduous journey in the crate, Henry finally has a birthday — his first day of freedom.

Amazon Button

“Reader Starter Set: Contemporary Women’s Fiction” by Ruth Hay


Reader Starter Set: Contemporary Women’s Fiction

by Ruth Hay

Genre: Women’s Fiction/Sagas/Romance

FREE at time of posting!

Characters you will love, women you can identify with, stories you will never forget. In this Reader Starter Set, you get three “first in series” novels from Ruth Hay’s women’s fiction series.

Sea Changes, Seafarers Book 1

“Like Upstairs/Downstairs on a cruiseship…”

A contemporary women’s fiction novel that explores the secret lives of crew and passengers, thrown together on the high seas.

Auld Acquaintance, Prime Time Series Book 1

Auld Acquaintance is the story of a woman in her 60s who has lost her confidence through life events, including a divorce. Anna has a part-time job in a library, and a group of good friends, but her hopes for a brighter future are growing dim.

Unexpectedly, she receives a legal letter informing her that she has inherited a piece of property in Scotland. Her first instinct is to ignore this letter as she has no knowledge of the person named as the owner.

Anna’s friends persuade her to travel to Scotland and stay until she can decide how to dispose of the farm house near Oban. So begins an adventure which opens up prospects for Anna and introduces her to a new environment and new people who help her.

Seven Days There, Seven Days Series Book 1

When friends reunite after years apart, what secrets will be revealed?

Valerie Westwood never expected to outlive her husband.

It was time for Valerie to start again but, first, she needed the consolation and comfort of her old friends.

She would find a way to bring the women together in a place so special that it would unlock the past and give all of them a glimpse of a new future.

Amazon Button