Dread

Holy moly, week 30! 😉

Felicia Denise, Author


moon river

52-Week Writing Challenge: Week 30
Another Camp NaNoWriMo is nearly over. I validated four days ago, exceeding my word count goal. But, of course, the story isn’t over. This is another unedited excerpt of Calla, my Camp Nano project.

Exiting the banquet hall Calla smiled, reinvigorated by the sweet scents of spring carried on the night air from nearby Golds Lake.

The clouds carrying the rain Tena feared would ruin her wedding day, at last, gathered in the late evening sky but even their dreary darkness couldn’t hide the brilliance of the full moon.

Gazing toward the lake stirred feelings of wanderlust in Calla.

Though small and not a true lake, the body of water was just one of many tributaries winding its way through the small towns of eastern Missouri to join with the mighty Mississippi River a couple of hours away.

Even the water was going places.

Shaking…

View original post 642 more words

“The London Sisters: The Complete Series: Bonus Content Edition” by Abby Brooks

#FREE July 30th Only!


London Sisters cover

“The London Sisters: The Complete Series: Bonus Content Edition

Genre: July 23, 2017

Release Date: Contemporary Romance/Sports/Anthology

Amazon ButtonKindle UnlimitedGoodreads Button


The London Sisters Series, complete with bonus content not available anywhere else!

Meet Dakota, Chelsea, and Maya as they find three passionate yet flawed alpha males and find their happily ever afters.

Love Is Crazy

Dakota London is a small town girl trapped in her small town life. When she meets Dominic Kane, a travel photographer she’s admired for years, her life gets turned upside down.

What Happened in Vegas

Dakota and Dominic’s wedding story. This novella is not available outside of this box set.

Love Is Beautiful

Chelsea London isn’t looking for passion or fire. All she wants is safety. When she meets Max Santoro, a gorgeous cop with a bad attitude, she gets more than she ever expected.

Blissed Out

Chelsea and Max’s wedding story. This novella is not available outside of this box set.

Love Is Everything

Hudson Knox is the kind of guy that should come with a warning label and that makes him perfect for Maya London in her quest for a no-strings-attached relationship. She thought a one-night stand would be nothing. Turns out it’s everything.


Abby Brooks is a romance author who lives with the love her life and their three kids in a small town in Ohio. She loves dancing in the kitchen, laughing with people she loves, and reading way too late into the night. She also loves hearing from her readers! Connect with Abby at http://www.facebook.com/AbbyBrooksAuthor or join her Reader Group by going to http://eepurl.com/bMU2Bz.

Happy reading!

“Amish Courage to Change (Amish Seeds of Change Book 2)” by Rachel Stoltzfus

#FREE July 30th ONLY!

(What? You knew an Amish read was coming. Did you just meet me?)


Courage to Change cover

“Amish Courage to Change (Amish Seeds of Change Book 2)

Genre: Amish/Family Life

Release Date: June 20, 2017

Amazon ButtonKindle UnlimitedGoodreads Button


Resentment. Betrayal. Triumph.

After Emma Lapp’s weight loss surgery, her sister, Barbara, will do anything to make her sister fail. Tempting foods. Too large portions. But with the support of her long-time friend and true love Jacob, Emma perseveres. Seeing Emma’s success, Barbara risks her marriage and her sister’s good name in one final act of ultimate betrayal. Will Barbara succeed in driving her sister away? Or will Emma find the courage to change herself, her family, and her community? Find out in Amish Courage to Change, Book 2 of the Seeds of Change series by Rachel Stoltzfus.

Amish Courage to Change is a unique Amish story that will touch a chord in your heart.

If you love well written Christian romance with a heroine as determined as she is kind, start reading Amish Courage to Change today!


Rachel was born and raised in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Being part of the Mennonite community, she started writing Amish romance fiction as a way of looking at the Amish community. She wanted to present a fair and honest representation of a love that is both romantic and sweet. Her books about Jacob Marshall, “A Home for Jacob series,” is the most popular of her books.

“Devil Dealing (The Ryder Quartet Book1)” by Ian Patrick

#FREE July 30th ONLY!


Devil Dealing cover

“Devil Dealing (The Ryder Quartet Book 1)”

Author: Ian Patrick

Genre: Thriller/Suspense/Police Procedural

Release Date: August 1, 2015

Amazon ButtonKindle UnlimitedGoodreads Button

 


How far should cops go to deal with the devil himself? What would you choose? Justice or retribution? Morality or vengeance? The first in a series of nail-biting crime fiction thrillers based on frontline research on actual crimes. Dip inside – if you dare – and see why thousands of readers are devouring these thrillers.

From the Author

Devil Dealing, the first book in The Ryder Quartet, builds on front-line research in the war against crime in Durban, South Africa. With assistance and guidance from detectives, forensics experts, and victims of crime, the author attempts to ensure meticulous attention to detail. He has explored the precise locations in which scenes are set and has captured details of actual crimes before adapting them for his purposes into fast-paced fiction thrillers. Throughout the quartet of novels, his intention has been to create exciting crime stories steeped in the authenticity of action, place and time. At the same time, he has endeavored to capture the essence of some current debates on law, justice, crime and moral responsibility.

After working as an actor, director, and teacher in theatre, film, and television, Ian Patrick turned to an academic career, publishing scholarly essays in a range of international academic journals. He believes his years as an actor, director, and researcher play a modest part in his writing. ‘My fiction is based to the best of my ability on research and field work. I have to believe every word my fictive characters say, every action they undertake,’ he says. Which explains why he has accompanied detectives to the front line, interviewed forensics investigators, and spent many hours scouring actual locations for his crime scenes: many of them based on actual events.

‘I try to make my fiction plausible and authentic. This requires exhaustive work and detailed research. It takes me up to a year of full-time work to write an eighty thousand word crime thriller. In my view, although it is clearly desirable to arrive at one’s destination by bringing a work to publication, it is the journey that is the really exciting and enjoyable part of writing. I can only hope that readers will also enjoy the journey of discovering my characters and their foibles, their actions, and their experiences. I hope, too, that they will inform me about and forgive me for any lapses in my work or any errors of detail.’

How ‘Pro Writing Aid’ makes Editing Easier

Another good self-editing tool with a free and paid version! 😉

Jed Herne: Writer

Editing transforms crappy first drafts into polished stories. To be a good writer, you must be a good editor. I’ve written extensively about how to edit your story, but today, we’re doing something different. Today, I’ll show you a program that does the editing for you. 

It’s called Pro Writing Aid.

Since I brought Pro Writing Aid seven months ago, it’s become essential to my editing process. ProWritingAid is a piece of automatic editing software. No, it won’t write your story, but it will plug into Word and run over 20 types of reports on your writing.

View original post 571 more words

This Is How It Happened” by Paula Stokes


TIHIH cover

“This is How it Happened”

Author: Paula Stokes

Genre: YA/Peer Pressure/Friendships

Release Date: July 11, 2017

Amazon ButtonGoodreads Button


The author of Girl Against the Universe and Liars, Inc. plunges readers into a world where the internet is always watching—and judging—in this compelling story about mistakes, repercussions, and online vigilante justice. Perfect for fans of Sarah Darer Littman’s Backlash or Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.

After waking up from a coma, Genevieve Grace can’t remember the car crash that killed her boyfriend Dallas, a YouTuber turned teen music idol. Genevieve knows she was driving, but because of what’s been reported in the media, everyone assumes the other driver, Brad Freeman, is guilty. As she slowly pieces together the night of the accident, Genevieve is hit with a sickening sense of dread—what if she’s the one at fault?

While the internet and social media viciously condemn Brad, Genevieve escapes to her father’s house near Zion National Park to hide from curious classmates and intrusive reporters. But she quickly realizes that she can’t run away from the accident. And eventually, she will have to come to grips with what happened…and her role in it.


Paula Stokes is the author of several novels, most recently This is How it Happened and Vicarious. Her writing has been translated into eleven foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. She also loves interacting with readers. Find her online at authorpaulastokes.com or on twitter as @pstokesbooks.

Another One Bites the Dust! #CampNaNo


Camp NaNo Winner Banner


I validated my July Camp NaNoWriMo project Wednesday – 51,969 words of what I thought was a 50K word goal.

But it wasn’t. It was 40K.

*Shakes head* Who? What? Ugh!

Doesn’t matter anyway because this WIP is far from over.

So my next NaNoWriMo goal? To finish on time… with a COMPLETED story!

Chances of that happening?

None.

 

 

Save

Historical Research for Writers

A Writer's Path

by Sheree Crawford

Researching is, believe it or not, a skill that not everyone has. If you do have it you should definitely put it on your C.V.; good research is often the thing you do not see, but the want of it is blindingly obvious, especially when you write historic fiction, or you’re writing about cultures and people you don’t know anything about.

Research isn’t about consuming every piece of information you can find on your topic; it’s about knowing what is and isn’t important. You can learn this by taking a degree of some sort (History in particular will smack you in the face with research skill requirements before you’ve even finished the first year… whoo-boy that was a learning curve, I can tell you), or you can piggyback my History degree; go on, I don’t mind. I’ll share some of the pearls I’ve discovered while cracking…

View original post 1,154 more words